Statutory Rape Laws by State (2022)

You asked for a comparison of statutory rape statutes by state.

Most states do not refer specifically to statutory rape; instead they use designations such as sexual assault and sexual abuse to identify prohibited activity. Regardless of the designation, these crimes are based on the premise that until a person reaches a certain age, he is legally incapable of consenting to sexual intercourse. Thus, instead of including force as a criminal element, theses crimes make it illegal for anyone to engage in sexual intercourse with anyone below a certain age, other than his spouse. The age of consent varies by state, with most states, including Connecticut, setting it at age 16. The age of consent in other states ranges from ages 14 to 18.

Some states base the penalty for violations on the age of the offender, with older offenders receiving harsher penalties. For example, California, Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and New York reserve their harshest statutory rape penalty for offenders who are age 21 or older.

Table 1 shows statutory rape laws, including penalties, by state.

States

Statutory Rape

Penalties

Alabama

§ 13A-6-61

§ 13A-6-62

First-degree rape for someone age 16 or older to have sexual intercourse with someone under age 12.

Second-degree rape for someone age 16 or older to have sexual intercourse with someone between age 12 and 16, when the actor is at least two years older.

Life in prison or between 10 and 99 years

Two to 20 years in prison

Alaska

§ 11.41.434

§ 11.41.436

§ 11.41.440

First-degree sexual abuse of a minor for someone age 16 or older to engage in sexual penetration with someone under age 13.

Second-degree sexual abuse of a minor for someone age 16 or older to engage in sexual penetration with someone who is age 13, 14, or 15 and at least three years younger than the offender.

Fourth-degree sexual abuse of a minor for someone under age 16 to engage in sexual penetration with someone under age 13 and at least three years younger.

Up to 30 years in prison

Up to 10 years in prison

Up to one year in prison

Arizona

§ 13-1405

Sexual conduct with a minor to engage in sexual intercourse with someone under age 18.

(1) If the minor is under age 15, five years in prison; (2) if the offender is at least age 18 or is tried as an adult and the minor was age 12 or younger, life in prison and the offender is ineligible for release until serving 35 years; (3) if the offender is at least 18 or tried as an adult and the victim is age 12, 13, or 14, the presumptive sentence is 20 years; or (4) if the minor is at least age 15, it is punishable by one year in prison

Arkansas

§ 5-14-103

§ 5-14-127

Rape is engaging in sexual intercourse with someone under age 14 who is at least three years younger.

Fourth-degree sexual assault if someone age 20 or older engages in sexual intercourse with someone under age 16.

10 to 40 years or life in prison

Up to one year in prison

California

§ 261.5(b)-(d)

Anyone who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a person under age 18 and the actor is not more than three years older or three years younger, is guilty of a misdemeanor

Anyone who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a person under age 18 who is more than three years younger than the actor is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony

Any person 21 years of age or older who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is under 16 years of age is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony

Up to one year in county jail

Up to one year in county jail or by imprisonment in the state prison (period unspecified)

Up to one year in a county jail or by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years

Colorado

§18-3-402

Sexual assault to knowingly inflicts sexual intrusion or sexual penetration on a victim (1) under age 15 if the actor is at least four years older or (2) at least 15 years old but less than 17 years old and the actor is at least 10 years older.

The former is punishable by two to six years' in prison and the latter by one to two years in prison

Connecticut

§ 53a-70 (a)(2)

§ 53a-71 (a)(1)

First-degree sexual assault to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 13 if the actor is more than two years older

Second-degree sexual assault to have sexual intercourse with a person between ages 13 and 16 if the actor is more than two years older

10 to 25 years in prison with a mandatory minimum of five years if the victim is between age 10 and 16 and 10 years if the victim is under age 10. The combined sentence and special parole must equal at least 10 years

Up to 20 years in prison (nine months mandatory minimum)

Delaware

§ 770

§ 771

§772

§ 773

Fourth-degree rape to have sexual intercourse with (1) someone under age 16 or (2) someone under age 18 and the actor is at least 30 years older.

Third-degree rape to have sexual intercourse with a (1) victim under age 16 if the actor is at least 10 years older or (2) victim under age 14 if the actor is age 19 or older.

Second-degree rape to sexually penetrate a person under age 12 if the actor is 18 or older.

First-degree rape to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 12 if the actor is age 18 or older.

Up to 10 years

Two to 20 years in prison

(Video) Statutory Rape: A Guide to State Laws and Reporting Requirements

Two to 20 years in prison with a 10 year minimum

15 years to life in prison

Florida

§ 794.05

Unlawful sexual activity with certain minors if someone age 24 or older engages in sexual activity with someone age 16 or 17.

Up to 15 years in prison

Georgia

§ 16-6-3

Statutory rape to have sexual intercourse with someone under age 16.

One to 20 years in prison, but (1) 10 to 20 years if the offender is age 21 or older and (2) up to one year in prison if the victim is age 14 or 15 and the offender is no more than three years older.

Hawaii

§ 707-730

First-degree sexual assault to knowingly engage in sexual penetration (1) with someone under age 14 or (2) with someone between age 14 and 16 when the offender is more than five years older.

An indeterminate term of 20 years in prison

Idaho

§ 18-6101

Rape of a female under age 18.

One year to life in prison

Illinois

§ 730 ILCS 5/12-12 et seq.

Aggravated sexual assault for sexual penetration by an offender under age 17 with a victim under age 9.

Predatory criminal sexual assault of a child for sexual penetration by an offender age 17 or older and a victim under 13.

Criminal sexual abuse is sexual penetration with (1) an offender under age 17 and a victim between ages 9 and 17 or (2) a victim between ages 13 and 17 and an offender less than five years older.

Aggravated criminal sexual abuse is sexual penetration with a victim between age 13 and 17 by an offender at least five years older.

Six to 30 years in prison

Six to 30 years in prison

Up to one year in prison

Three to seven years in prison

Indiana

§ 35-42-4-3

§ 35-52-4-9

Child molesting is sexual intercourse with a child under age 14.

Sexual misconduct with a minor if a person at least age 18 engages in sexual intercourse with a child between ages 14 and 16.

(1) Fixed term of 10 years with up to 10 years added or four subtracted for aggravating and mitigating circumstances or (2) if the offender actor is at least age 21, a fixed term of 30 years, with up to 20 years added or 10 subtracted.

(1) Fixed term of four years with up to four added or two subtracted or (2) if the actor is at least age 21, a fixed term of 10 years with up to 10 years added or four subtracted.

Iowa

§ 709. 4

Third-degree sexual abuse to perform a sex act on another person, not his spouse, who is (1) age 12 or 13 or (2) age 14 or 15 if the actor is five or more years older.

Up to 10 years in prison

Kansas

§ 21-3504

§ 21-3522

Aggravated indecent liberties with a child is sexual intercourse with a child between age 14 and 16.

Unlawful voluntary sexual relations is sexual intercourse with a child age 14 to 16 when the offender is under age 19 and less than four year older.

These crimes are felonies subject to sentencing guidelines

Kentucky

§ 510.020 et seq.

First-degree rape is sexual intercourse with someone under age 12.

Second-degree rape is someone age 18 or older engaging in sexual intercourse with someone under 14.

Third-degree rape is someone age 21 or older engaging in sexual intercourse with someone under 16.

20 to 50 years in prison

Five to 10 years in prison

One to five years in prison

Louisiana

§ 14-80

§ 14.80.1

Felony carnal knowledge of a juvenile is sexual intercourse with consent between (1) someone age 19 or older and someone between age 12 and 17 or (2) someone age 17 or older and someone between age 12 and 15.

Misdemeanor carnal knowledge of a juvenile is sexual intercourse with consent between someone age 17 to 19 and someone age 15 to 17 when the difference in their ages is greater than two years.

Up to 10 years in prison (with or without hard labor)

Up to six months in prison

Maine

17-A § 253 (1)(B)

17-A § 254 (1)(A)

Gross sexual assault to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 14

Sexual abuse of a minor for anyone to have sexual intercourse with someone, other than his spouse, who is either age 14 or 15 and the actor is at least five years older.

(Video) Statutory Rape Laws In Texas: A Former DA Breaks Down The Law! (2021)

Up to 40 years in prison

Up to one year in prison. Up to five years in prison if the actor is at least 10 years older than the victim.

Maryland

§ 3-306

§ 3-307

§ 3-304

Second-degree sexual offense to engage in a sexual act with a person under age 14 and the actor is at least four years older

Third-degree sexual offense for someone at least age 21 to engage in a sexual act, including vaginal intercourse, with someone age 14 or 15

Second-degree rape to have vaginal intercourse with a person under age 14 if the actor is at least four years older

Up to 20 years in prison

Up to 10 years in prison

Up to 20 years in prison

Massachusetts

272 § 4

Criminal inducement to get a person under age 18 of chaste life to have unlawful sexual intercourse

Up to three years in prison or up to two and one-half years in jail

Michigan

§ 750.520b et seq.

First-degree criminal sexual conduct is sexual penetration with someone under age 13.

Third-degree criminal sexual conduct is sexual penetration with someone between age 13 and 16.

Up to life in prison

Up to 15 years in prison

Minnesota

§ 609.342 et seq.

First-degree criminal sexual conduct is sexual penetration with a victim under age 13 and an actor more than 36 months older.

Third-degree criminal sexual conduct is sexual penetration with (1) a victim under age 13 and an actor no more than 36 months older or (2) a victim age 13 to 16 and an actor more than 24 months older.

Up to 30 years in prison

Up to 15 years in prison. But under the second part of the crime, if the actor is between 24 and 48 months older, up to five years in prison

Mississippi

§ 97-3-95

Sexual battery to sexually penetrate a child (1) at least age 14 but under age 16 if the actor is at least 36 months older than the child or (2) under age 14 if the actor is at least 24 months older than the child.

Up to 30 years in prison but (1) under the first part of the crime, if the actor is between age 18 and 21, up to five years and (2) under the second part of the crime, if the actor is 18 or older, then life or a term over 20 years

Missouri

§ 566. 032 (1)

§ 566. 034 (1)

First-degree statutory rape to have sexual intercourse with another person who is less than fourteen years old

Second-degree statutory rape for someone at least age 21 to have sexual intercourse with someone who is less than age 17

Five years to life in prison

Up to seven years in prison

Montana

§ 45-5-501 et seq.

Sexual intercourse with someone under age 16.

Life imprisonment or between two and 100 years. If the victim if under age 16 and the offender is at least three years older, life imprisonment or four to 100 years.

Nebraska

§ 28-319

First-degree sexual assault for a person age 19 or older to sexually penetrate a person under age 16

One to 50 years in prison

Nevada

§§ 200. 364

Statutory sexual seduction for anyone age 18 or older to engage in sexual intercourse with a person under age 16

One to five years in prison if the actor is 21 years of age or older. Up to one year in prison if he is under age 21

New Hampshire

§ 632-A: 3

Felonious sexual assault for anyone to engage in sexual penetration with a person, other than his spouse, who is under age 16

Up to seven years in prison

New Jersey

§ 2C:14-2

Aggravated sexual assault is sexual penetration with a victim under age 13.

Sexual assault is sexual penetration with a victim between age 13 and 16 when the actor is at least four years older.

10 to 20 years in prison

Five to 10 years in prison

New Mexico

§ 30-9-11

First-degree criminal sexual penetration to engage in sexual intercourse with a child less than age 13

Fourth-degree sexual penetration to engage in sexual intercourse with a child age 13 to 16 if the actor is at least age 18 and at least four years older than the child

(Video) Understanding Sexual Consent and The Law

Basic sentence of 18 years in prison

Basic sentence of 18 months in prison

New York

§§130. 25, 130. 30, and 130. 35

Third-degree rape for anyone age 21 or older to have sexual intercourse with someone under age 17

Second-degree rape for anyone age 18 or older to engage in sexual intercourse with someone under age 15. The fact that the offender was less than four years older than the victim at the time of the act is an affirmative defense.

First-degree rape to have sexual intercourse with someone (1) less than age 11 or (2) less than age 13 if the actor is age 18 or older

Up to four years in prison

Up to seven years in prison

Five to 25 years in prison

North Carolina

§ 14-27.2 et seq.

First-degree rape is sexual intercourse with a victim under age 13 when the actor is at least age 12 and at least four years older.

Statutory rape or sexual offense of person age 13, 14, or 15 is intercourse with someone age 13, 14, or 15 when the actor is (1) at least six years older and (2) between four and six years older.

These crimes are felonies subject to the structured sentencing law with minimums and maximums depending on aggravating and mitigating factors and the offender’s prior record

North Dakota

§ 12.1-20-03

Gross sexual imposition is committing a sexual act with a victim under age 15.

Corruption of minor is an adult engaging in sexual act with a minor

Up to 10 years in prison

(1) Up to one year in prison if the victim is at least age 15 or (2) if actor is at least age 22 and the victim is a minor at least age 15, up to five years in prison.

Ohio

§ 2907.04

Sexual assault for a person age 18 to engage in sexual conduct with a minor if the actor knows that the minor is between ages 13 and 16

(1) Six to 18 months in prison, (2) if the actor is less that four years older than the victim, a $1,000 fine, or (3) if the actor is 10 or more years older than the victim, one to five years in prison.

Oklahoma

§ 21-1114

First-degree rape for a person over age 18 to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 14

In all other cases rape is second-degree rape

Five years in prison to death

One to 15 years in prison

Oregon

§ 163.355

§ 163.365

§ 163.375

Third-degree rape to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 16. Defense that the actor was less than three years older than the victim at the time of the offense

Second-degree rape to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 14. Defense that the actor was less than three years older than the victim at the time of the offense

First-degree rape to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 12

Up to five years in prison

Up to 10 years in prison

Up to 20 years in prison

Pennsylvania

18 § 3121

Rape to engage in sexual intercourse with a complainant who is less than 13 years of age.

Rape to engage in deviate sexual intercourse with a complainant who is less than (1) 13 years of age or (2) 16 years of age and the actor is four or more years older.

Up to 20 years in prison

Rhode Island

§ 11-37-6

Third-degree sexual assault for anyone over age 18 to engage in sexual penetration with someone over age 14 and under age 16

Up to five years in prison

South Carolina

§ 16-3-655

First-degree criminal sexual conduct with a minor to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 11.

Second-degree criminal sexual conduct with a minor to have sexual intercourse with a person between ages 11 and 14.

Up to 30 years in prison

Up to 20 years in prison

South Dakota

§ 22-22-1

Rape to sexually penetrate a person under age 10.

Rape to sexually penetrate a person between ages 10 and 16 if the actor is at least three years older than the victim.

10 years in prison

15 years in prison

Tennessee

§ 39-13-506

Statutory rape to sexually penetrate a person at least age 13 but less than age 18 if the actor is at least four years older than the victim. Any actor under age 18 must be tried as a juvenile and cannot be transferred to adult court.

(Video) Ask the Attorney E03: Statutory Rape

Two to six years in prison

Texas

§ 22.011

Sexual assault for anyone to intentionally or knowingly penetrate a person under age 17, other than his spouse. The actor has an affirmative defense if he is not more than three years older than the victim, who is at least age 14

Two to 20 years in prison

Utah

§ 76-5-401

§ 76-5-401.2

Unlawful sexual activity with a minor to have sexual intercourse with someone age 14 or 15

Unlawful sexual activity with a minor to have sexual intercourse with someone age 16 or 17 if the actor is 10 or more years older than the victim

Up to five years in prison, unless the actor is less than four years older than the victim

Up to five years in prison

Vermont

13 § 3252

13 § 3253

Sexual assault to engage in a sexual act with a person under age 16, except where the actors are married and the act is consensual

Aggravated sexual assault for anyone age 18 or older to engage in a sexual act with someone under age 10

Up to 20 years in prison

Up to life in prison

Virginia

§ 18.2-61

§ 18.2-63

§ 18.2-63

§18.2-63

Sexual intercourse with a child under the age of thirteen

Carnal knowledge of a child between ages 13 and 15

Carnal knowledge of a child between ages 13 and 15 when the actor is a minor and the victim is three or more years younger

Carnal knowledge of a child between ages 13 and 15 when the actor is a minor and the victim is less than three years younger

Five years to life in prison

Two to 10 years in prison

One to five years in prison

Maximum fine of $250

Washington

§ 9A.44.073

§ 9A.44.076

§ 9A.44.079

First-degree rape of a child to have sexual intercourse with a person less than age 12 years and the actor is at least 24 months older

Second-degree rape of a child to have sexual intercourse with a person who is at least 12 but less than 14 years old if the actor is at least 36 months older than the victim

Third-degree rape of a child to have sexual intercourse with a person age 14 or 15 if the actor is at least 48 months older than the victim

Five years to life in prison

Five years to life in prison

Up to five years in prison

West Virginia

§ 61-8B-3

§ 61-8B-5

First-degree sexual assault for a person age 14 or older to have sexual intercourse with a person age 11 or younger

Third-degree sexual assault for a person age 16 or older to have sexual intercourse with a person under age 16 and at least four years younger than the actor

15 to 35 years in prison

One to five years in prison

Wisconsin

§ 948.02

§ 948.09

Sexual intercourse with a person under 13 years of age

Sexual intercourse with a person under 16 years of age

Sexual intercourse with a minor at least age of 16

Up to 40 years in prison

Up to 25 years in prison

Up to nine months in prison

Wyoming

§ 6-2-303

§ 6-2-304

Second-degree sexual assault to inflict sexual intrusion upon a person under age 12 and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.

Third-degree sexual assault if, under circumstances not constituting first- or second-degree sexual assault, the actor is at least four years older than the victim and inflicts sexual intrusion on a victim under age 16.

Up to 20 years in prison

Up to 15 years in prison

(Video) What is "statutory rape" (sexual seduction) in Nevada law? SEE DESCRIPTION FOR UPDATED LAW

FAQs

Can a 15 year old date a 18 year old in Washington State? ›

In Washington, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone younger than 16), even if the sex is consensual. The state also forbids certain sexual contact and intercourse between minors who are more than a certain number of years apart in age.

What state has the youngest consent? ›

The states' laws differ, and the minimum age of consent in the United States is 16, and the maximum is 18 years old. From time to time, states do update their laws, including the age of consent. For example, from 2018 to 2019, Wyoming and New Mexico raised their age of consent from 16 to 17.

What is mens rea for rape? ›

13 The current definition of the mens rea of rape is problematic: it confines rape to cases in which the defendant intends non-consensual sex, or is reckless as to the victim's lack of consent and requires acquittals where the defendant has mistakenly assumed the victim consents, even in the absence of objective ...

What is Japan's age of consent? ›

According to the source, the current legal minimum age of consent in Japan is 13 years of age.

Is a 3 year age gap legal? ›

For example, If there is a 3 year age gap, whether older or younger, between you and the underage person you have sex with, it is only considered a misdemeanor and it is possible to be imprisoned for up to 1 year.

What is the highest age of consent in the world? ›

The lowest minimum age is 14 years, set in seven Member States: Austria, Bulgaria, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Italy and Portugal. The highest is set at 18 years – in Malta.

What was the lowest age of consent in US history? ›

In 1880, the ages of consent were set at 10 or 12 in most states, with the exception of Delaware where it was 7. The ages of consent were raised across the U.S. during the late 19th century and the early 20th century.

How do you prove consent in court? ›

In order to establish consent in these circumstances, three requirements must be present. First, an individual cannot consent to circumstances that involve the possibility of serious bodily injury. Second, the harm must be a reasonably foreseeable aspect of the conduct and a risk that would reasonably be accepted.

What is not considered consent? ›

Consent cannot be given by individuals who are underage, intoxicated or incapacitated by drugs or alcohol, or asleep or unconscious. If someone agrees to an activity under pressure of intimidation or threat, that isn't considered consent because it was not given freely.

Can you revoke consent after? ›

Consent can always be withdrawn

It doesn't matter that they gave it to you before. If they withdraw it and you continue, then you could face legal charges. You can't claim that getting consent in the first place meant you were allowed to do anything you want. Someone can change their mind, and you must respect that.

What's the age of consent in Russia? ›

The age of consent in Russia is 16 years old. However, as with many countries, Russia's age of consent has changed several times. The Criminal Code of the Russian Soviet Federal Socialist Republic (RSFSR) stated that consent was when "sexual maturity" was reached.

What is age of consent in China? ›

Table
Countries and statesMust be marriedUnrestricted
Hetero
BruneiYes18
CambodiaNo18
ChinaNo14
27 more rows

What is the age of consent in Vietnam? ›

Age of Consent: 18 years Vietnam Criminal Code Art. 143, paragraph 4 Any person who employs trickery to make his care-dependent or a person in extreme need to reluctantly engage in sexual intercourse or other sexual activities shall face a penalty of 01 - 05 years' imprisonment.

What is too big of an age gap? ›

A relationship age gap bigger than 10 years often comes with its own set of issues. “While there are always exceptions to rules, a good rule to remember is that dating someone more than 10 years older will present challenges now or later that add to the preexisting challenges any relationship has,” he says.

How much of an age gap is OK? ›

"Half-your-age-plus-seven" rule

An often-asserted rule of thumb to determine whether an age difference is socially acceptable holds that a person should never date someone whose age is less than half their own plus seven years.

How much of an age gap is OK for minors? ›

Five to seven years is generally an acceptable age difference. However, there's no single right answer here, as it depends on the situation. As long as both partners are consenting adults, there's nothing preventing you from dating someone significantly older or younger than you are.

Is the age of consent 13 in Japan? ›

What's the legal age of consent in Japan and how is it different from other countries? The age of consent is 13. It's defined as the age from which a person is deemed capable of consenting to sexual activity and such consent is legally valid.

What country has the youngest consent? ›

Age of Consent: 11 to 12 years

The legal age at which a person can agree to a sexual relationship in Nigeria is 11 years. This consensual age is the lowest across the globe. The Philippines and Angola follow closely with the age of consent in both countries being 12 years.

Which state has 14 as the age of consent? ›

Sexual Intercourse with Minors
StateAge of consentMinimum age of victim
Oklahoma1614
Oregon1815
Pennsylvania1613
Rhode Island1614
48 more rows
14 Dec 2004

What is Romeo and Juliet law? ›

In the United States, many states have adopted close-in-age exemptions. These laws, known as "Romeo and Juliet laws" provide that a person can legally have consensual sex with a minor provided that he or she is not more than a given number of years older, generally four years or less.

Do you have to say yes for consent? ›

While someone might not always verbally say “Yes” to sex, there are some basic guidelines to follow to make sure both parties consent: Consent is informed. It's something you decide to do, not just let happen.

Why would a judge not approve a consent order? ›

Judges can reject a consent order if they do not think it is fair. This is because a consent order, unlike other types of Court order, cannot be appealed or set aside unless in exceptional circumstances.

What are the 3 elements of valid consent? ›

An effective consent process needs to address three elements: Capacity — who can give informed consent? Disclosure — what information do patients need? Voluntariness — are they giving consent freely?

What are 4 exceptions to consent? ›

Several exceptions to the requirement for informed consent include (1) the patient is incapacitated, (2) life-threatening emergencies with inadequate time to obtain consent, and (3) voluntary waived consent.

Do you have to ask for consent every time? ›

Consent should be given freely and willingly. Repeatedly asking someone to engage in a sexual act until they eventually say yes is not consent, it's coercion. Consent is required for everyone, including people who are in a committed relationship or married.

What can invalidate consent? ›

If the request for consent is vague, sweeping or difficult to understand, then it will be invalid. In particular, language likely to confuse – for example, the use of double negatives or inconsistent language – will invalidate consent.

What happens if I break a consent order? ›

In most cases, if there has been a breach, the consent order will be enforced by the court. The person who has made the breach will be required to pay the money owed or carry out the task given to him or her (for example, subscribing for medical insurance for the other) within a certain period of time.

Can you withdraw consent from police? ›

No individual can choose to withdraw his or her consent from the police, or from a law.

What happens if a 18 year old gets with a 15 year old? ›

There's not really anything illegal about the 18 year old 'dating' a 15 year old. However, it gets to be a legal problem if 'dating' means 'having sexual relations. ' If you are having sex with this 18 year old guy, then he is committing a felony offense that could make him a sex offender.

Can a 16 year old consent to an 18 year old in Washington? ›

Consent: Giving permission for something to happen. In the state of Washington a person must be 16 years old to consent to any sexual activity. If under the age of 18 (16 or 17 years old) the person's partner must be no more than 5 years (60 months) older than them.

What is the Romeo and Juliet law in Washington? ›

In Washington DC, there is no such Romeo and Juliet law for the sex abuse of a minor statute because sexual abuse of a minor requires a significant relationship between the defendant and a minor. A 19-year-old can still be charged with sex abuse of a minor against a 17-year-old because of that significant relationship.

Can you get emancipated at 15 in Washington state? ›

Any minor who is 16 years of age or older and a resident of Washington may petition for a declaration of emancipation. If granted, parental obligations are terminated including financial support, care, supervision, and obligations imposed by reason of dissolution such as child support.

How much of an age gap is OK? ›

"Half-your-age-plus-seven" rule

An often-asserted rule of thumb to determine whether an age difference is socially acceptable holds that a person should never date someone whose age is less than half their own plus seven years.

What's the lowest age a 18 year old can date? ›

In a Nutshell: Sex between an 18 year-old and a 15 year-old is illegal in California, meaning any touching of “private parts” of either, even with consent of both parties (and perhaps even the parents of each teenager) is illegal in California because the age of consent is 18.

What happens if two minors are dating and one turns 18? ›

California does not set a minimum age for someone to date within the state legally. However, if an adult has sexual relations with a minor, the adult can be charged with statutory rape.

What's the age of consent in Texas? ›

The legal age of consent in Texas is defined by the Texas Penal Code Section 21.11 and Section 22.011 as the legal age to which an individual can legally choose to participate in sexual conduct –– the legal age of consent in Texas is 17.

What is the age of consent in Florida? ›

In Florida, the age of consent is 18 years old, sexual intercourse with someone who is under 18 is considered statutory rape. There is a close-in-age exemption (Romeo & Juliet Law) allowing minors who are 16 or 17 to have sex with someone no older than 23 years old.

Can a 16 year old date a 26 year old in Washington? ›

What Is the Age of Consent for Sex in Washington? In Washington State, the age of consent for participation in sexual activity is 16 years old. Once an individual reaches the age of 16, they can legally consent to sexual activity with a legal adult who is 18 years of age or older.

Can a 19 year old date a 16 year old in DC? ›

Find Out More About Washington DC Child Sex Abuse Laws

It is illegal for any adult to engage in sexual activity with a person under the age of 16, even if it is consensual.

Is sexting a crime in Washington state? ›

Sexting Between Adults

It is legal for consenting adults in the state of Washington to privately exchange sexually explicit texts and other materials, including pictures and videos. An issue arises when the sexting and exchange of explicit material is not consensual.

What is the youngest age for emancipation? ›

To get a declaration of emancipation, you have to prove ALL of these things:
  • You are at least 14 years old.
  • You do not want to live with your parents. Your parents do not mind if you move out.
  • You can handle your own money.
  • You have a legal way to make money.
  • Emancipation would be good for you.

What can you legally do when you turn 16? ›

16 things you can do when you turn 16: An unofficial and in no way recommended guide
  • 1) Register to Vote. ...
  • 3) Leave Home. ...
  • 4) Get Frisky. ...
  • 5) Apply for a Passport. ...
  • 6) Drink (in extreme moderation) ...
  • 7) Join the Army (with parental consent) ...
  • 8) Buy a Pet. ...
  • 9) Buy a Lottery Ticket.
23 Oct 2019

Videos

1. What is statutory rape?
(Ray C. Lopez, PA)
2. What is the Age of Consent in Texas? What are the DEFENSES to Statutory Rape?
(Matthew Harris Law, PLLC)
3. Statutory Rape Charges NJ - Laws, Statute of Limitations, Penalties - Fighting Statutory Rape
(Travis Tormey)
4. CA "Statutory Rape" Laws | Penal Code 261.5
(Shouse Law Group Channel)
5. Marital Age and Statutory Rape Laws (LEPH 2021)
(CPHLR Temple)
6. 19-Year-Old Put On Sex Offender List For Lifetime
(William Blanchette TV )

Top Articles

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Rev. Leonie Wyman

Last Updated: 12/04/2022

Views: 5656

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (79 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rev. Leonie Wyman

Birthday: 1993-07-01

Address: Suite 763 6272 Lang Bypass, New Xochitlport, VT 72704-3308

Phone: +22014484519944

Job: Banking Officer

Hobby: Sailing, Gaming, Basketball, Calligraphy, Mycology, Astronomy, Juggling

Introduction: My name is Rev. Leonie Wyman, I am a colorful, tasty, splendid, fair, witty, gorgeous, splendid person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.